Beagle and Wolf Books & BinderyEvents
About Us
Book Groups
Events
Bindery
Newsletter
Place an Order
Life in Community
Midwest Connections
How to Find Us
Contact Us
Links
Home
Home

 




This month's Midwest Connection Picks



book

The Great Believers
Reecca Makkai

A dazzling new novel of friendship and redemption in the face of tragedy and loss, set in 1980s Chicago and
Contemporary Paris, by the acclaimed and award-winning author Rebecca Makkai. This book is for you if you liked The Snow Queen by Michael Cunningham, My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent, or The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer



book

The Contest: The 1968 Election and the War for America's Soul
James Fallows and Deborah Fallows

1968 was one of the most tumultuous years in the twentieth century, culminating in one of the most consequential presidential elections in American history. The Contest tells the story of that contentious election and that remarkable year, giving us the long view of a turning point in American culture and politics.

This book will appeal to history buffs, political junkies, people trying to figure out how the heck we got here, as well as readers who enjoyed American Maelstrom by Michael A. Cohen, Playing with Fire by Lawrence O'Donnell, or Resilient America by Michael Nelson.



bookBroken Places

Tracy Clark

After a fatal shooting on a rooftop, a traumatized Cassandra Raines quits the Chicago P.D. leaving it with one less black female homicide detective. But when she stumbles across the dead body of a respected member of the community, it’s up to her to prove a murderer is on the loose in this first installment of the Chicago Mystery series by Chicago journalist Tracy Clark. For readers of Laura Lippman and Lisa Scottoline.



bookLong Players: A Love Story in Eighteen Songs
Peter Coviello

Have you ever fallen in love—exalting, wracking, hilarious love—with a song? Long Players is a book about that everyday kind of besottedness—and, also, about those other, more entangling sorts of love that songs can propel us into. This memoir will appeal to readers of Nick Hornby and Rob Sheffield, as well as Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Love and lovers of music.




Some favorite past Midwest Picks



— page top —
       
     
About Us|Book Groups|Events|Bindery|Newsletter|Place an Order|Life in Community   
Midwest Connections|How to Find Us|Contact Us|Links|Home



BeagleandWolf.com Copyright 2015 Beagle and Wolf Books & Bindery: Designed by Hannah Jennings Design